The Resource Spymistress

Spymistress

Label
Spymistress
Title
Spymistress
Creator
Subject
Summary
The New York Times Bestseller by the Author of A Man Called IntrepidIdeal for fans of Nancy Wake, Virginia Hall, The Last Goodnight by Howard Blum, The Woman Who Smashed Codes, The Wolves at the Door by Judith Pearson, and similar worksShares the story of Vera Atkins, legendary spy and holder of the Legion of HonorWritten by William Stevenson, the only person whom she trusted to write her biographyShe was stunning. She was ruthless. She was brilliant and had a will of iron. Born Vera Maria Rosenberg in Bucharest, she became Vera Atkins. William Stphenson, the spymaster who would later be known as "Intrepid", recruited her when she was twenty-three. Vera spent most of the 1930s running too many dangerous espionage missions to count. When war was declared in 1939, her many skills made her one of the leaders of the Special Operations Executive (SOE), a covert intelligence agency formed by, and reporting to, Winston Churchill. She trained and recruited hundreds of agents, including dozens of women. Their job was to seamlessly penetrate deep behind the enemy lines. As General Dwight D. Eisenhower said, the fantastic exploits and extraordinary courage of the SOE agents and the French Resistance fighters "shortened the war by many months."They are celebrated, as they should be. But Vera Atkins's central role has been hidden until after she died; William Stevenson promised to wait and publish her story posthumously. Now, Vera Atkins can be celebrated and known for the hero she was: the woman whose beauty, intelligence, and unwavering dedication proved key in turning the tide of World War II
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Stevenson, William
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • History
  • True Crime
  • Military
  • Nonfiction
Label
Spymistress
Instantiates
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:8f4d787f-e893-4591-89bc-bbc60730ac5b
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9781628721867
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk
Label
Spymistress
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:8f4d787f-e893-4591-89bc-bbc60730ac5b
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9781628721867
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk

Library Locations

    • Ruth Faulkner Public Library - City of BelmontBorrow it
      215 Wright Street, Cloverdale, 6105, AU
      -31.96206 115.93403
Processing Feedback ...